A Complete Record and Who’s Who 1921-29

 Author: Garth Dykes

ISBN: 978-1-905891-48-1

RRP:  £10

Paperback, 189mm x 246mm


Formed in 1880s, Ashington AFC were founder members of the Football League’s Third Division North in 1921. Their spell in the League lasted for just eight seasons and unfortunately coincided with difficult economic and social times in the north-east.  After suffering financial losses and with an uninspiring playing record they were voted out of the League in 1929. 

Author Garth Dykes has looked into the playing careers of all the men who played for Ashington in the Football League and has written a detailed account of their careers.  Full line-ups and scorers grids are included.  The book is well illustrated with player photographs and team groups.

Copies of “Ashington AFC” are available by post from Tony Brown at the address above and can also be ordered on the website.  It will also appear in the catalogues of leading sports booksellers.  If ordering from Tony, please make your cheque or postal order payable to Tony Brown and include postage and packing (£1.50 for UK orders, £3 for the rest of Europe, £5 for the rest of the world).