1893 TO 1954


Author: Garth Dykes

ISBN: 978-1-905891-93-1
RRP:  £15

Paperback, 189mm x 246mm



Of the 49 League seasons covered by this book, Bury spent 22 of them in the top flight, with a best finish of fourth place in 1925-26.  They won the Second division championship in their first season, 1894-95.  Their two FA Cup victories came in 1900 and 1903, one of them with a 6-0 win that remains a record for the Cup Final to this day.

The author, Garth Dykes, has followed the club’s fortunes since visits to Gigg Lane in the late 1940s. Although at first planning to end the book with the last pre-war season, Garth was particularly keen to include the men he saw in action, hence the change to include the seasons up to 1953-54.  The book examines the playing careers of all the men who played for the club up to this point, and includes a detailed account of their time at Bury and elsewhere. Research for the book has found new details of birth dates and junior clubs played for. The book is illustrated with over 200 player photographs, some of which have not been published before.

Copies of the book are available by post from Tony Brown at 4 Adrian Close, Nottingham NG9 6FL and can also be ordered on this website.   If ordering by post, please make your cheque or postal order payable to Tony Brown and include postage and packing (£2.00 for UK orders, £5 for the rest of Europe, £10 for the rest of the world).

Alternatively, use the Paypal 'Buy Now' buttons below. 

UK Price

Rest of Europe Price

Rest of World Price (Airmail)