Author: Garth Dykes

ISBN: 978-1-911376-07-1
RRP:  £18

Hardback, 246mm x 189mm


The book provides career details of all the first-team players who appeared during the first period of the club’s time in the Football League. Of the 43 League seasons, Forest spent 21 of them in the top flight, with a best finish of fourth place in 1903-04. They won the FA Cup 1898 and were presented with the Football League’s championship trophy for their triumph in the wartime competition of 1918-19.

The book provides a detailed account of each man’s playing career, both at Forest and elsewhere. Appearance and goal statistics are included. Research for the book has found new details of birth dates and junior clubs played for. The book is illustrated with over 200 player photographs, some of which have not been published before.

The author, Garth Dykes, has followed the club’s fortunes from the early 1950s. He has a substantial body of work to his name, for Breedon Books and other publishers.  His special interest is in soccer clubs north of the Trent, so we have had to make an exception (of a couple of hundred yards) in this case.

Copies of the book are available by post from Tony Brown and can also be ordered on this website.  It will also appear on Amazon and in the catalogues of leading sports booksellers.  If ordering from Tony, please make your cheque or postal order payable to Tony Brown and include postage and packing (£2.00 for UK orders, £8 for the rest of Europe, £12 for the rest of the world).

Alternatively, use the Paypal 'Buy Now' buttons below. 

UK Price

Rest of Europe Price

Rest of World Price (Airmail)